Bound for Buenos Aires!

I bade farewell to Ushuaia for the third – and probably last – time today. It was strange realizing that I’m not sure I will ever get back there again. But I also felt a sense of fulfillment in knowing that I was leaving having accomplished and experienced everything I could or wanted to.

It was a travel day that started with breakfast with the three remaining Antarctica crew – Ashley (aka: Princess), Marie (aka: Mare-Bear) and Michael (aka: Captain America) – and would end in Buenos Aires!

After breakfast, I headed to the airport with Ashely and Marie to board our plane. Luckily, we were all able to sit together – and Ashley and I watched The Little Mermaid/sang to the whole plane! It left us both signing Les Poissons – you know, the one all about how the frenchman is trying to kill little Sebastian?

We said our goodbyes at the airport in Buenos Aires over coffee and sweets and I headed out for my next adventure!

Buenos Aires by Bus

Some of my favorite times are when I take advantage of travel tips that save money and make me feel more like a local. One of those times was today when I learned that the best way to get from Ezeiza International Airport (EZE) into the city was on city bus number 8. Some quick facts about taking the bus:

  • Cost: Just AR$4.70 / US$0.34 versus a taxi for AR$500 / US$35.00
  • Payment: You need a SUBE card (purchase for $25 in the city or ask a fellow traveler who has been to BA – a big thank you to Lena who gave me hers in Ushuaia!)
  • Duration: About 1.5-2 hours (twice as long as a taxi)
  • Pick-up: There are two bus stop stops 1-2 min walk from the terminals Airport Bus
  • Additional Considerations: Do you have too much luggage to cart around by bus? Is there a bus stop near where you’re staying? Can you explain or show the location to the bus driver to help you get where you’re going?

Even though it was a Friday night, after a long travel day, I ended up heading to my hostel for a good night’s sleep so I could be productive the next day!


For your geographic enlightenment: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Screen Shot 2016-02-22 at 4.00.18 AM

 

Leave a Reply

